CoW Grant -- Authenticated Hooks

CoW Grant – Authenticated Hooks

Author

I am meetmangukiya. I am a software developer, have been in DeFi and web3 space for over 3 years now. I also have familiarity with CoW protocol technicals.

I have also completed the following CoW grants:

1. Automated fee collection - https://forum.cow.fi/t/cow-grant-automated-fee-withdrawal/

Grant Category

Other/Misc.

Grant Description

All hooks, irrespective of the order, are executed from the context of HooksTrampoline. This is a requirement as otherwise if executed from GPv2Settlement, this would place accumulated protocol fees in direct jeopardy.

This setup works fine when executing hooks that are permissionless (such as claim for an airdrop that’s not authenticated on msg.sender), and also works for hooks that have self-contained authorisation (e.g. permit, where a user signs the permit, in order to be able to set allowances).

This setup is limited in scope to protocols / standards that already provide some inherent type of signed authentication, or are completely permissionless. This prohibits integrations such CDP management, vault savings strategies etc.

Grant goals and impact

This grant introduces a solution to this by standardizing a way to sign the hooks calldata such that it will be authenticated on chain and user-specific user-owned accounts will be called with those hooks data.

It also acts a solution to the problem of post hooks not being atomic. So even if the post hook fails, the assets will still be under the custody of the user-owned proxy, and not lie in the HooksTrampoline contract for anyone to steal.

Scope

To implement a solution that allows for the use of deterministic addresses to be associated with an order owner so that the owner may set the receiver to an address that hasn’t be deployed yet, but which they are guaranteed to have control over.