Cow revenue share discussion

Hi guys,

I am a huge fan of the cow protocol and I think a rev share via staking would be the next step that the Dao should take. Aave also considers a proposal for a rev share lately and there is the idea coming from.
The numbers cow is doing are amazing.
Short summary what the fees would generate (pls excuse me for any mistakes that could happen in my discussion. I am not an expert of the technical aspects of cow by any means)

All tokens are staked and the 100% of the revenue is split among the stakers

• 341.900.000 tokens unlocked
  • 1.089 Eth fees generated the last 5 months
    —> 217,5 per month —> 2613 Eth per year
    —> 7.840.000 $ per year (3.000$ per Eth)

Tokens / revenue = 0.0229 $ cow/year

So the apy would be north of 10% when cow tokens is at .2

You could also add the revenue of the mev blocker which is 2 eth per day. With that the apy would be close to 15% with all tokens staked.

I personally think that a rev share would bring a true utility to the token and would increase the price significantly. Many new people which use cow swap and know the numbers would buy the token and stake it. With that also more ppl would get their eyes on cowswap which also would get the volume higher.

Also all following developments (fees on new layer2s and evm chains) which increase the volume and the apy.

I think this is a smarter step then spending millions for a cex listing, when the token has no usecase.

Imo this should be the next step asap, cuz nobody knows how long this bullrun will take and this also would cow survive a bear market.

The one difficult point is the legal process of the rev share model, but I guess this shouldn’t be an issue if aave is planning to do this and the world gets crypto friendlier every day :slight_smile:

What is your opinion on that?
What are pros and cons that I didn’t mentioned?

Ty for your time and if I made a mistake or didn’t knew something just tell me.

3 Likes